Franchise History

There have been eleven published games, one canceled game and five different expansion packs or h2c in the Rainbow Six franchise to date.

Rainbow Six

The very first game in the series that defined a new style of combat games where strategy is more important than aim. Developed by Red Storm Entertainment and published in 1998 for PC and several consoles, it was very positive on PC but did not fair well on current generation consoles. The game had one expansion mission pack called Eagle Watch. Read more @

Rainbow Six: Rogue Spear

The second installment in the series, Rogue Spear continued what was at this point a major success for Red Storm Entertainment. Released in 1999, the game had three expansions over the following 2 years. Read more @

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Take-Down – Missions in Korea

This game was technically the third game in the series, however it was never released outside of South Korea. Built using the Rogue game engine by Kama Digital Entertainment, it was intended to be released globally, but for some reason it never was. Read more @

Rainbow Six: Lone Wolf

Rainbow Six: Lone Wolf was released in 2002 as a Playstation exclusive. It had a very high difficulty and was not very long, not being much longer than an expansion pack. Read more @

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield

Picking up where Rogue Spear left off, Raven Shield stands as the true third game in the series. Developed and published in 2003 by Ubisoft, it was built on Unreal Engine 2.0 and stole a few community favored features from other popular FPS games like Counter Strike. Read more @

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Black Arrow

Following in the heels of success with Raven Shield on the Xbox, Ubisoft released an exclusive sequel to Raven Shield called Black Arrow in 2004. Read more @

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Lockdown

Lockdown was released in 2005 and takes the role as the true 4th game in the series. Taking place in the “future” (2009), Rainbow must stop the Global Liberation Front from releasing their airborne virus agent, “Legion”. Unfortunately, the development teams shifted far enough away from the game mechanics that franchise fans grew to love, that the game received mixed reviews. Read more @

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Critical Hour

Critical Hour was released the following year after Lockdown, in 2006. Many gaming publications speculated that Critical Hour was rushed out due to the mixed reviews of Lockdown. Unfortunately this game was then criticized for what seemed like a limited amount of content. Read more @

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas

Vegas is the 6th Rainbow Six game to be released in the series and features a new team of Rainbow operators dispatched to Las Vegas, Nevada. Developed on Unreal Engine 3 by Ubisoft and published late 2006, the game received very positive reviews on Xbox 360, PC and PS3. Read more @

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas 2

The sequel (and prequel) to Vegas, Vegas 2 was released in 2008 by Ubisoft. Ubisoft chose to drop the main character in order to allow the player to customize the protagonist and was well received across the board. Read more @

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Siege

The eighth installment in the Rainbow Six series and the focus of our Rainbow Six basic training and Rainbow Six advanced training content. Siege is the first Rainbow Six game to be released since Vegas 2, over 7 years ago. The game is limited in single player content but offers the most realistic multiplayer combat experience of all time. Less than 3 weeks following the games release, the development team released the first content update fixing many issues and improving the game, backing up their claim that they intend to continue development of the game long after initial release. Read more @

Counter Terrorist Units

comments powered by Disqus